Five weeks out….

So, the next all company email has gone out – may get more than a single response this time…

Dear all,

Over the course of my life I have lapsed at many things.

Certainly the original idea of not drinking, smoking and whatever the dietary element was has lapsed, and then some…

My religion has lapsed – in fact I lost that before REM, so that is ancient history.

But, because I relish a challenge – and to be honest, a big f*cking hill in the Atlas on a Brompton doesn’t really cut it – I have professionally lapsed this time…

… or, as a little bit of advertising agency has rubbed off on me, despite my age and the fact I listen to the home service on the wireless, I like to shorten this to ‘pro-lapsed’…

…in fact one can narrow this down to my L5 lumber disc or somesuch thing which, pictorially, is the broken man’s equivalent of sharing scans of unborn children on Facebook…

The bright side of a walking stick on a Brompton is that, if your mind can make the leap beyond ‘complete cock’, it is a bit like a knight on his charger, spear in hand, change my name to ‘George’ (and become shit hot at PR…)

Regardless I am going to do this*, it is a great cause, you have just been paid and can help:

Since my last mail I have rather painfully done the following by way of a spot of practice

  •   336 miles
  •   17.5k’ of climbing
  •   Looked after 2 kids
  •   Held down a full time job
  •   Balance out the uppers and downers…

Tuffs x

One comment on “Five weeks out….

  1. Cheer up old man, it won’t be that bad.
    A few more afternoons in the Flask talking about the hills we need to climb and we will be all set for the Ouka.

Leave a Reply

