Eight weeks out

Okay – that’s it, I have sent the company-wide sponsorship mail – let the world know I am doing this and commited to getting healthy – that was the easy bit!

All R/GA:

For those who missed my inaugural Toastmasters talk yesterday, between all the ‘effing and blinding’ and giving HR enough material to extradite me from the building, I touched on uppers and downers!

The big high in this case being the Oukaimeden in the High Atlas – a casual 10,000’ of climbing on my little Brompton! The downer being the return journey which is terrifying – last year the clown bike topped 50mph!

Starting in Marrakech, you climb through the High Atlas Mountains to the ski resort of Oukaïmeden (Ouka) at 2624m, an altitude gain of some 2129m in aid of Education for All. To give you an idea The Ouka Monster is bigger in altitude gain than any of the classic climbs in the Tour de France:

Oukaïmeden 2129m
▲ Galibier 1924m
Mont Ventoux 1622m
▲ Tourmalet 1404m
▲ Alpe d’Huez 1071m

I am about to go through the pain of spending the next 8 weeks getting fit, not smoking, not drinking beer and not eating junk food to do this. In return I want to rob you all deaf, dumb and blind in the name of a fantastic cause (I cover all my expenses and all monies go to the charity)

Thanks in advance,

Tuffs x

PS.

A while back I sent out a rallying call to everyone I know to see if they wanted to join us – other than the odd person being recommended by others, so far, the response is ‘minimal’ but it is not too late to join! http://www.marrakech-atlas-etape.com/register/ – We are flying Saturday 26 April – riding Sunday 27 April – returning Monday 28 if you have the urge.

And for something completely different which may need the addition of an AK: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-london-26437881

Leave a Reply

